East Lothian New Year Honours

The honours system recognises people who have made achievements in public life and/or committed themselves to serving and helping Britain.  Whether someone gets an honour – and the honour they get – is decided by an honours committee. The committee’s decisions go to the Prime Minister and then to the Queen, who awards the honour.  The following East Lothian people were recipients of New Year honours:

Member of the Order of the British Empire

Diane Elaine Watt. For services to children’s hearing. (Dunbar, East Lothian)

Laura Naomi Young. Co-Founder, Teapot Trust. For services to chronically ill children in Scotland. (East Lothian)

British Empire Medal (BEM)

Christine McDiarmid Black. Badminton development officer, East Lothian Council. For services to badminton in Scotland. (Edinburgh)

Richard Hadden. Beadle, St Michael’s Church, Inveresk. For services to the community in East Lothian. (Musselburgh, East Lothian)

Lynda Jeffrey. Founder, Stenton Singers Choir. For services to music and charity in Stenton, East Lothian.

Christian Evelyn Lindsay. For services to the community in East Linton, East Lothian. (Haddington, East Lothian)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *